Featured Dog: Blake – ADOPTED!

Blake wags with his body

Hello! I’m Blake, a young Boxer mix (I’m about 6 months old and still a puppy, though I don’t look like it). The volunteer who normally writes about dogs here in the shelter thought that I should express myself, given my enthusiastic personality, so I’ll try.

I have a constantly wagging tail, and I love walks, but I really love to run around in exercise pen chasing toys or just running around in general. Supposedly that would make me a great running/jogging partner, though I have no idea what that means, but if if I can run, I’m all for it! The volunteers have said I’d benefit from a dog park…apparently, it’s a huge fenced pen where dogs are on loose and play with each other. It sounds like a lot of fun!

Blake in the sunshine

I used to be a little bouncy and unfocused at the shelter (all that noise! so many smells! sensory overload to a max! I’m just a puppy!) but I’m learning that if I sit and wiggle my butt to a minimum (wagging tails are ok) I can get as much hot dog treats as I want. I’ve been told that looking cute works too, but that’s stuff for another day.

Blake sits

Blake smiles

(Disclaimer: I am getting a nice food treat for writing this entry, just so you know. Hopefully it’s one of those yummy peanut butter filled Kongs or pupsicles. mmmm.)

I hear that it’s back-to-school time, and that I’d do well in puppy classes. Apparently it involves lots of treats and learning new tricks to get even more treats. Oh boy, I am really looking forward to that.

Blake post-play

So if you have the time to run with me and take me to these fun classes and love me, come visit me in Kennel 8. For more information contact doginfo@apsofdurham.org.

Happy dog!

This entry was posted in featured dogs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Featured Dog: Blake – ADOPTED!

  1. Pingback: Animal Protection Society of Durham » Blog Archive » BLAKE

  2. Robin Watson says:

    We are interested in adopting Blake. He he been to obedience class? We met him twice in the shelter and we would like more temperament information on Blake.
    Thank you
    Robin

  3. Robin Watson says:

    We would like to adopted Blake this week. We have purchased a large inside kennel and some food. What other items are needed before adoption can be completed. I plan to come by the agency on Friday.

    Thanks excited family!

Leave a Reply

