Featured Dog: Gwendolyn – ADOPTED!

Gwendolyn

Hi, I’m Gwendolyn, a mostly white-with-brown-patches female pit bull mix, and I’m around 2 years old. The volunteer taking the pictures thought it was time I talked for myself, since I can be a little shy and cautious.

Gwendolyn

Because I’ve been at the shelter for a while, I didn’t know what to expect of people. I didn’t know if I was going to be treated well or not. But lately, I’ve been moved to a part of the shelter where there are more people, and they pass by and look at me and sometimes they even take me outside so I can enjoy the sunshine and do my business. And sometimes these same people pet me and I’ve discovered since then that it feels really good, especially on my belly!

Gwendolyn

Gwendolyn

Sometimes I even move/lean just so my belly can get rubbed. I adore bellyrubs- they feel so good, they make me feel relaxed and safe, and it just feels right.

Gwendolyn

Gwendolyn

Gwendolyn
I stretch my arms sometimes when I get a bellyrub- it’s like a full body yawn!

Gwendolyn

Okay…my volunteer says I need to get out of the belly rub stupor to talk about other things that I like to do. Let’s see. I like treats, and I know ‘sit’. My volunteer says I have an extremely gentle mouth for a big dog and that I accept treats so much more gracefully than some dogs she’s worked with.

Gwendolyn
This is what I look like when I sit and ask for treats.

Gwendolyn
Sometimes I even smile.

Gwendolyn
but mostly I’m focused.

Gwendolyn
I was asked to smile again. Here we go…

Gwendolyn
I like this one better. More distinguished, I think.

Gwendolyn
My volunteer says I look cute in this one. Kind of like a little girl with her hair pulled back.

Gwendolyn
I think my colors look great against grass. I would love a fenced in backyard to play in!

Gwendolyn

So some other things- I try very very hard to please- I won’t always know what you’re telling me to do, but I can promise you I’m going to try my best. I like toys, especially balls, and other dogs are fun to be with. I don’t play too hard, but I will play if someone wants to. I am, however, a little sensitive and if you are ever angry or disappointed with me I will feel that and it makes me very sad. I just want you to love me for who I am and trust that I am doing my best.

Gwendolyn

So if you are kind, gentle, and patient, I would love to come live with you and be part of your family. And if you are interested in me, please visit Kennel 36 and ask to interact with me- I’ll do my best to impress you.

Gwendolyn

For more information on Gwendolyn, please contact doginfo@apsofdurham.org or leave a comment below.

Gwendolyn
Come meet me!

Update: here’s a video of Gwendolyn if you want to see her wonderful ‘sit’ and affection.

This entry was posted in featured dogs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Featured Dog: Gwendolyn – ADOPTED!

  1. Pingback: Animal Protection Society of Durham » Blog Archive » GWENDOLYN

Leave a Reply

