Puppy Friday: Chelsea – ADOPTED!

Chelsea

This is Chelsea, a 4 months old mostly pit mix. Some folks think she may have some greyhound, but she reminds me of some basenjis, and her nose is very much a labrador retriever’s nose (especially a chocolate lab). She probably has a bit of everything here and there- but that’s what makes her unique.

Chelsea

I apologize if all the photos look the same- Chelsea was very insistent that I know that she already knew ‘sit’ 🙂 She is indeed a pro at ‘sit’ and if I recall, she didn’t do badly on ‘down’ either. She’s very food motivated, so I think she’d be a star at obedience school.

Chelsea

One of her endearing features is that she doesn’t just use her wide eyes for the cuteness effect; she pulls her ears back. She’s very irresistible that way- I unknowingly emptied my treats bag while working with her!

Chelsea

At the same time, it makes her very forgivable. Especially when she wags her tail.

Chelsea

Chelsea also likes toys, and she gets along with other dogs. She has remarkable self control in terms of controlling what must be her high energy, but she’d love to exercise with you via jogging or hiking. You can tell she’d be one very loyal companion, especially if you have all of her favorite treats!

Chelsea

If you are interested in Chelsea, please come visit her in Kennel 29.

Chelsea

For more information on Chelsea, please email doginfo@apsofdurham.org or leave a comment below.

Chelsea

This entry was posted in puppyfridays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Puppy Friday: Chelsea – ADOPTED!

  1. Pingback: Animal Protection Society of Durham » Blog Archive » CHELSEA

  2. Chris says:

    Chelsea had two sisters and was the runt of the litter when we interacted with her at the shelter. At the time, she was not dominant over her sisters. I’d even say she was quite submissive to them.

    We adopted one of her sisters and named her ‘Chloe’ (https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/200416_1464320828157_1837601317_848047_7336768_n.jpg). Chloe is loving and extremely cute. She has high energy and loves to play with our other dog.

    I’ve been sharing links to Chelsea for weeks and I hope a family is lucky enough to adopt her soon!

    • bullcitydogs says:

      Chloe is adorable! I can’t believe Chelsea is her sister…Here’s hoping she gets adopted soon.

    • Caroline says:

      Hi Chris!

      My name is Caroline, and I was the one that adopted Chelsea (now Norah) at the end of August. I live in Durham still, and she has been an absolutely amazing dog to have. I am head over heels!!

      Do you live in durham? It would be so fun for Chelsea/Norah to re-meet her sister! Do you know where the third in the litter went?

      Funny that you say she was the runt, because you certainly wouldn’t know it now! She bosses my family’s 70lb pit mix like it’s her job!

      Email me at cac56 AT duke.edu if you see this reply! I’d love to stay in touch and hear about Chloe!

  3. Chris says:

    Chelsea’s been adopted. Happy she found a home 🙂

Leave a Reply

